Portugal Discovers Their Opponents for 2022 World Cup Qualifying

The 2022 World Cup qualifying draw for Europe was completed on Monday, December 7 in Switzerland.

The 55 UEFA teams now know their path to the World Cup in Qatar.

In total, 13 European countries will feature at Qatar 2022. These will be the 10 group winners, plus three via the play-offs.

The play-offs will feature the 10 group runners-up, alongside the two sides ranked highest in the 2020-21 Nations League who have not already qualified as a group winner or secured a runner-up spot.

Those 12 teams will be split into three separate paths, with the winner of each booking a ticket to Qatar.

For the first time ever the World Cup will be played in November and December of 2022 to avoid the intense summer heat in the Middle East.

The group schedule will be released shortly by the federation.

Matchday 1: March 24-25, 2021

Matchday 2: March 27-28, 2021

Matchday 3: March 30-31, 2021

Matchday 4: September 1-2, 2021

Matchday 5: September 4-5, 2021

Matchday 6: September 7-8, 2021

Matchday 7: October 8-9, 2021

Matchday 8: October 11-12, 2021

Matchday 9: November 11-13, 2021

Matchday 10: November 14-16, 2021

Group A

Portugal, Serbia, Ireland, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

Group B

Spain, Sweden, Greece, Georgia, Kosovo

Group C

Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group D

France, Ukraine, Finland, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kazakhstan

Group E

Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia

Group F

Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group G

Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Montenegro, Latvia, Gibraltar

Group H

Croatia, Slovakia, Russia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta

Group I

England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino

Group J

Germany, Romania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein




Author: Administrator